Our Monday digest of the week’s 10 most important climate and clean energy developments

Alberta Makes it Happen

Clean Energy Review - May 30, 2016

This week: The International Renewable Energy Agency releases its annual employment report, a startup wants to help office towers generate electricity from their windows, and Alberta takes a great big step into a lower-carbon future.

Subscribe now to join the Clean Energy conversation.

To keep up to date on our work, we invite you to subscribe to our weekly Clean Energy Review digest—a Monday-morning run-down of the 10 most interesting and overlooked climate and clean energy developments from across Canada and around the world

Straining Credibility

Clean Energy Review - May 23, 2016

This week: British Columbia’s Climate Leadership Team says it's time to step up, an ultra-bomber new tidal turbine sets sail for the Bay of Fundy, and 23 energy ministers pack their bags for California.

Into the Heart of the Clean Energy Industry

Clean Energy Review - May 16, 2016

This week: Major oil companies appear to be finally dropping serious coin into low-carbon energy, the United States again tops the clean-power investment podium, and Alberta runs spellcheck on the plan that will ultimately purge coal from its wires.

The Elephant in the Smoke

Clean Energy Review - May 9, 2016

This week: Canadian fund managers get a mediocre grade on carbon-risk disclosure, rooftop solar panels spread through U.S. neighborhoods like crabgrass, and the Fort McMurray conflagration inspires a moment of self-reflection.

Will the Transition Include Canada’s Indigenous?

Clean Energy Review - May 2, 2016

This week: Clues emerge that EV demand is soaring out West, the “Deep Decarbonization” guys run the numbers (and Canada comes up short), and a leaked copy of Ontario’s Climate Action Plan hints that Queen’s Park is about to go big.

India’s $100-billion Idea

Clean Energy Review - April 25, 2016

This week: You can help set Canada’s climate priorities, a B.C. company plans to bring renewable power to far-flung communities–one barge at a time, and those silicon-based solar panels are so 2015.

Fast and Furious

Clean Energy Review - April 18, 2016

This week: Ottawa wants to make it easier for EV owners to power up, wind turbines crank away across the United States, and clean power producers pour cash and jobs into B.C. communities.

Energy Literacy’s “Trojan Horse”

Clean Energy Review - April 11, 2016

This week: Quebec aims to slash its oil consumption, IKEA wants to be the retail king of rooftop solar, and Ontario gets the ball rolling on another 930 MW of utility-scale renewables—in four different flavours.

From Model T to Model 3

Clean Energy Review - April 4, 2016

This week, Scotland pushes the big red STOP button at its last coal plant, renewable power advocates look to the Arctic, and everybody everywhere drools over the new “people’s car” that could, in all honestly, herald the end of the internal combustion engine.

Your Long-Weekend Reading List

Clean Energy Review - March 25, 2016 - Long weekend edition

Head into the long weekend with our essential guide to clean energy commitments in the 2016 Federal Budget, plus five top commentary pieces to round out your holiday reading list.

We're Bending the Curve

Clean Energy Review - March 21, 2016

This week: renewables keep global carbon pollution on the plateau, a British billionaire sets his sights on ocean energy, and the Obama administration moves toward making the Big Apple the new windy city.

Solar Crushes Coal

Clean Energy Review - March 14, 2016

This week: Alberta begins writing coal’s eulogy, Ontario awards a pile of new clean-power contracts and, as commodities slump, demand soars for the metal pegged as the “gasoline of the future.”

We look forward to hearing from you.

Clean Energy Canada
Suite 721, 602 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, B.C. V6B 1P2
Telephone: 604-947-2200

Please see our team page for staff email addresses.

Media Enquiries

For media enquiries, please call or text our communications director Julia Kilpatrick via 250-888-3404

If you are interested in supporting our work, please contact our development advisor Natasha LaRoche via natasha@cleanenergycanada.org.